With almost 2 months left, the 2010 Campeonato Brasileiro witnessed a change at the top of the standings. Cruzeiro took over 1st place in the standings as they defeated Fluminense in a Top 2 matchup. The encounter in Belo Horizonte saw Wellington Paulista score a skillful header in the 14th minute to give Cruzeiro the 1-0 win. The victory was Cruzeiro’s 3rd victory in their last 4 matches. The Minas Gerais side have climbed up to 1st place after being as low as 11th place earlier in the season. The loss for the Tricolor Carioca is their 2nd straight defeat and 3rd straight week without a win.

Atlético Goianiense defeated Corinthians 4-3 in the wildest game of the week. Goianiense stunned O Timão by taking a 4-1 lead deep in the 2nd half. Dragão held on for the victory despite 2 Corinthians goals in the last 19 minutes of the game. The victory snapped a 3 game losing streak for Atlético Goianiense and they are 1 point from safety out of the relegation zone. Corinthians are now winless in their last 5 matches and have fallen 5 points out of 1st place although they have a game in hand.

Santos moved into 5th place with a strong 2-0 win at home against Atlético Paranaense at the Vila Belmiro. The controversy surrounding Santos’ board handling of Neymar has not been a distraction to the team on the field as Neymar set up the 2nd goal when he was fouled in the box after getting around his defender. Zé Eduardo buried the PK in the 65th minute to give Peixe its 2nd straight win and extend their unbeaten streak to 3 games.

Here are the results and standings from Rodada 29:


Vasco da Gama 3 – 3 Gremio
VAS: Éder Luís (14′), Cesinhac (45′), Felipe Bastos (69′)
GRE: Jonas (41′ & 72′) & Gabriel (88′)

Gremio Prudente 2 – 3 São Paulo
GRP: Wesley (32′ & 90’+1′)
SPO: Ricardo Oliveira (7′, 33′, 57′)

Santos FC 2 – 0 Atletico Paranaense
SAN: Maranhão (62′) & Zé Eduardo (pen 65′)


Avaí 2 – 2 Flamengo
AVA: Emerson (53′) & Roberto (59′)
FLA: Val Baiano (14′ & 16′)

Botafogo 0 – 0 Palmeiras

Corinthians 3 – 4 Atlético Goianiense
COR: Leandro Castan (2′), William Morais (71′), Thiago Heleno (87′)
ATG: Juninho (19′), Gilson (38′), Marcão (44′ & 65′)

Goiás 1 – 0 Vitória
GOI: Bernardo (77′)

Ceará 2 – 0 Guarani
CEA: Geraldo (15′) & Boiadeiro(43′)

Internacional 1 – 0 Atlético-MG
INT: Alecsandro (45′)

Cruzeiro 1 – 0 Fluminense
CRZ: Wellington Paulista (14′)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tags: ,