UruguayOscar Washington Tabárez came up with his list for what is being billed to be a rematch of last year’s third-place match in South Africa against Germany.  La Celeste are scheduled to take on Die Mannschaft in Sinsheim prior to their Euro2012 qualifier showdown against Austria and Azerbaijan next month.

For the South Americans, this would be the beginning of their Copa América preparations as they look to reclaim the title they last won back in 1995.

When you take a look at this list, immediately the forward position jumps out with players like Luis Suárez, Edinson Cavani, Abel Hernández, Sebastián Abreu, and Diego Forlán.

That final name comes with a certain deal of doubt as his form with Atlético Madrid has been shaky, at best.  His limited minutes due to either injury or his fallout with coach Quique Sánchez Flores.

One player that was left out from the domestic league was Nacional defender Sebastián Coates.  The player that is being touted as the replacement for Fenerbahce stalwart Diego Lugano in the near future.

The defense continues to be solid with the continued callup of their core.  Lugano as well as Sporting defender Diego Godín will be flanked by World Cup teammates Andrés Scotti, Maxi Pereira, and Álvaro Pereira.

Ajax midfielder Nicolás Lodeiro was also called up after sustaining an injury that kept him off the pitch for an extended period of time.

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Lazio-ITA), Juan Castillo (Colo Colo-CHI)

Defenders: Diego Lugano (Fenerbahce-TUR), Diego Godín (Sporting Gijón-ESP), Andrés Scotti (Colo Colo-CHI), Mauricio Victorino (Cruzeiro-BRA), Jorge Fucile (Porto-POR), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica-POR), Álvaro Pereira (Porto-POR)

Midfielders: Egidio Arévalo Ríos (Porto-POR), Sebastián Eguren (Sporting Gijón-ESP), Diego Pérez (Bologna-ITA), Walter Gargano (Napoli-ITA), Gastón Ramírez (Bologna-ITA), Álvaro González (Lazio-ITA), Sebastián Fernández (Málaga-ESP), Álvaro Fernández (Seattle Sounders-EUA), Nicolás Lodeiro (Ajax-HOL)

Forwards: Diego Forlán (Atlético Madrid-ESP), Luis Suárez (Liverpool-ING), Edinson Cavani (Napoli-ITA), Sebastián Abreu (Botafogo-BRA), Abel Hernández (Palermo-ITA).

Become a Fan on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tags: , , , , , , , ,